Stone Song by D.L. McDermott

Posted September 21, 2015 by Literati Lovers in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Stone Song by D.L. McDermottStone Song by D.L. McDermott
Also by this author: Cold Iron, Silver Skin (Cold Iron, #2), Blade Dance
Published by Simon and Schuster on June 9th 2014
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Paranormal, General
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
ISBN: 9781476734415
Goodreads
three-stars
three-flames

This post contains affiliate links, please see our 'About' page.

For fans of Jeaniene Frost and Kresley Cole, the third in D.L. McDermott’s fast-paced and sexy paranormal romance series—a full-length novel available exclusively in ebook!
Sorcha Kavanaugh knows better than to tangle with the Fae. She’s been aware of the Fair Folk, the Gentry, the Good Neighbors since she was a little girl. Her Gran used to warn her not to sing, not to play music, not to even hum, lest the Beautiful People hear her remarkable voice and spirit her away. Sorcha never believed Gran’s stories, until one of the creatures walked into a bar where she was singing and stole a year of her life. So when Elada Brightsword, the right hand of South Boston’s renegade Fae patriarch, interrupts her set at the Black Rose, Sorcha knows trouble has found her…again.
The Fae warrior has admired Sorcha from afar for months, but he’s aware of her unhappy history with the Fae, and has been waiting for the right time to approach her. Unfortunately for Elada, time has just run out. An old enemy, the malign Prince Consort, has identified Sorcha as a Druid descendent with the potential to become a stone singer, a bard with a voice that can shatter the strongest magical constructs. He will stop at nothing to enslave Sorcha and use her voice to bring down the wall between worlds, freeing the decadent, deadly Fae Court to return—and rule again.

Buy on Amazon

Buy on Barnes and Noble

Buy on Kobo


Karen’s Two Cents

 

Stone Song by D.L. McDermott is the third book in the series and could be read as a standalone, but the nuances of the series would be missed if it was read with out the series. The book starts out strong, but I did not feel connected to the romance of Edala and Sorcha in this book. Edala as a hero just didn’t strike a cord with me as there was no depth to his character beyond being Miach’s ‘right-hand’. The book felt like a rehash of the previous book that centered around Miach and Helene even with the stay at Deidre and Kevin’s house. This book has an bridge type feel to it as plot points from the previous book were cleared up in this book. It set up Blade Song, kind of like the ‘Empire Strikes Back’ of this series; not a bad book and yes, it was needed so we, the series readers, could move onto Finn’s story.

three-stars

About D.L. McDermott

D. L. McDermott was raised in Bergenfield, New Jersey. She studied Classics and Art History at Yale and after college worked at the Peabody Essex Museum in Salem, Massachusetts, where she managed architecture and interpretation and wrote and produced the Witch City’s most popular Halloween festival, Eerie Events: six nights of ghost stories in historic houses performed by costumed actors. Inspired by Salem’s macabre literary heritage and the words of Hawthorne, Poe, and Lovecraft, the event enjoyed a national audience of thousands, earning mention in David Skaal’s cultural history of Halloween, Death Makes a Holiday. D. L. later studied at the USC School of Cinematic Arts and her short films have been shown internationally and on PBS. D. L. is married with one (black) cat and divides her time between Los Angeles and Salem.

Rating Report
Plot
three-half-stars
Characters
three-stars
Writing
three-stars
Pacing
three-stars
Cover
four-stars
Overall: three-stars

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.