šŸŽ§Have You Heard?šŸŽ§Audiobooks For Your Listening PleasurešŸŽ§Silent Child by Sarah DenzilšŸŽ§Narrated by Joanne FroggattšŸŽ§

Posted April 11, 2018 by RobbieLea in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

šŸŽ§Have You Heard?šŸŽ§Audiobooks For Your Listening PleasurešŸŽ§Silent Child by Sarah DenzilšŸŽ§Narrated by Joanne FroggattšŸŽ§Silent Child by Sarah A. Denzil
Also by this author: The Broken Ones
Published by Audible Studios, CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform on January 26, 2017
Genres: Psychological Thriller
Pages: 413
Format: Audiobook
ISBN: 1542722829
ASIN: B0749XVZ53
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son's red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year - a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned. His body was never recovered. Ten years later, Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life. She's married, pregnant, and in control again... ... until Aiden returns. Too traumatized to speak, he raises endless questions and answers none. Only his body tells the story of his decade-long disappearance. The historic broken bones and injuries cast a mere glimpse into the horrors Aiden has experienced. Aiden never drowned. Aiden was taken. As Emma attempts to reconnect with her now teenage son, she must unmask the monster who took him away from her. But who, in their tiny village, could be capable of such a crime? It's Aiden who has the answers, but he cannot tell the unspeakable. This dark and disturbing psychological novel will appeal to fans of The Widow and The Butterfly Garden.

Buy on Amazon

Buy on Barnes and Noble


#ChildAbduction #Paedophile #LostintheFlood #ChildAbuse #SilentChild Ā @sarahdenzil @JoFroggatt @GezFez @audible_com

Silent Child by Sarah Denzil is a psychological thriller in the truest sense of the genre. The story is told from the perspective of Emma Price Hewitt, a woman whose only child has died in a tragic drowning. We see inside her mind as she mourns the loss of her parents shortly after her son’s death. We hear how she rebuilds her life and is now prepared to move forward with a new husband and a new baby coming. Then the unthinkable happens. The son she thought died 10 years ago is found alive and we listen as Emma’s hard-won peace of mind becomes a nightmare of suspicion and doubt. Because Aiden will not speak, there are no answers to the questions about the lost years. Sarah Denzil cleverly plants questions in the listeners’ minds just like the questions in Emma’s mind. Who is responsible for taking Aiden? Was it only one person or did the abductor have an accomplice? Is it a stranger or could it be the person she feels closest to in the world? Ā At a time in her life when Emma should be rejoicing, she’s being castigated in the press and by theĀ people she thought of as friends. If only Aiden would talk .Ā . .

Since the focus of my posts is audiobooks, I’m going to engage in a bit of a defense of the medium. I know there are people who have no patience for them. It seems for this group the time it takes to listen to a performance is more than they can spare. For others, the written word gives them a needed visual to secure their involvement in a storyline. There are stories that lend themselves to being performed and others, not so much. I think Silent ChildĀ is a book that benefits from the audio performance especially since it is an award-winningĀ interpretation by a fine actress,Ā Joanne Froggatt, whose name you may recognize from her role in Downton Abbey. If you do choose to listen to Silent Child, you will find this interview with Ms. Froggatt enlightening. In a cameo spot, one of the chapters is performed by Welsh actor Gerran Howell who will break your heart as Aiden.

There is a whole cast of villains and psychos in Silent Child and Aiden’s abduction isn’t the only crimeĀ uncovered.Ā I’m not sure any of the characters is completely innocent.Ā Reviewers run the gamut from those who claim they knew whodunnit from the outset to those who were completely stumped and clueless. I remember clearly when I reached the turning point and recognized the sicko who held this silent child captive for 10 long years. Listen carefully and you will too. There are parts that will be painful to hear, but I highly recommend this book to those who love the mystery/thriller/suspense genre.

four-half-stars

About Sarah A. Denzil

Sarah A. Denzil is a British suspense writer from Derbyshire. Her books include SILENT CHILD, which has topped the kindle charts in the UK and Australia, as well as being a top ten Amazon bestseller in the US. SAVING APRIL and THE BROKEN ONES are both top thirty bestsellers in the US and UK Amazon charts. She is also known as young adult author Sarah Dalton.

Sarah lives in Yorkshire with her partner, enjoying the scenic countryside and rather unpredictable weather. She loves to write moody, psychological books about ordinary people in extraordinary situations.

 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.