Blog Tour: 5-Star Review ~ Rome by Jay Crownover

Posted January 8, 2014 by Debbie in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour: 5-Star Review ~ Rome by Jay Crownover

Blog Tour: 5-Star Review ~ Rome by Jay CrownoverRome by Jay Crownover
Also by this author: Jet, Nash, Better When He's Bad, Rowdy, Better When He's Bold, Asa, Better When He's Brave (Welcome to the Point, #3)
Series: Marked Men #3
Also in this series: Jet, Nash, Rowdy, Asa
Published by William Morrow & Company on January 7, 2014
Format: eARC

FTC disclaimer applies, please visit 'About' page

Cora Lewis is a whole lot of fun, and she knows how to keep her tattooed bad boy friends in line. But all that flash and sass hide the fact that she’s never gotten over the way her first love broke her heart. Now she has a plan to make sure that never happens again: She’s only going to fall in love with someone perfect.

Rome Archer is as far from perfect as a man can be. He’s stubborn and rigid, he’s bossy and has come back from his final tour of duty fundamentally broken. Rome’s used to filling a role: big brother, doting son, super soldier; and now none of these fit anymore. Now he’s just a man trying to figure out what to do with the rest of his life while keeping the demons of war and loss at bay. He would have been glad to suffer it alone, until Cora comes sweeping into his life and becomes the only color on his bleak horizon.

Perfect isn’t in the cards for these two, but imperfect might just last forever . . .

Buy on Amazon

Buy on Barnes and Noble

~ Debbie’s 5-Star Review ~

Jay Crownover is the reason I bought a Kindle. I had been lurking on GoodReads and came across a book titled Rule. The cover is what caught my eye and then I read the synopsis and just knew I had to read this book. Hence my need for a Kindle.

Now you are probably thinking that’s just crazy buying a Kindle for one book. Well crazy or not I bought one and fell in love not only with the amazing story of Rule but with the author Jay Crownover. Knowing it would be impossible for me to fall harder for any other character she wrote I was startled when I read Jet and felt him settle deep within my heart.

Once again the author has won me over with her words and the story that is Rome. One of the things I love about this author is that within the first few pages I felt like I was visiting with old friends. Yes all of the characters I had become attached to in the first two books were there and I was thrilled to be back into their world. If you have not read the first two books in the Marked Men series the author provides just the right amount of detail so you are up to speed on their unique personalities. I would suggest that you do read Book One Rule and Book Two Jet. Not because they are needed to enjoy Rome but because they are each wonderfully written books.

The story of Cora and Rome is a story of finding out who you really are, what you really want, letting go of the past, holding on to the future.

Cora is a colorful, flashy, tell it as it is kind of girl. Her physical appearance may surprise but she is so much more than what people see. She is a caring, loyal, trustworthy friend anyone would be lucky to have. She is also broken and unwilling to let go of the past. She holds her hurt close to her heart, putting up a shield to protect herself.

Rome defines the word fantasy. He is tall with a solid build. His eyes hold mysteries that you yearn to solve. He is a brother and a son. The protector of his siblings and the glue that holds his family together. Rome is lost. After returning home from serving his country he is not sure where he fits in and what it is he is supposed to be doing with his life. His demons haunt him with a force he can’t control.

When Rome and Cora are forced together through a series of events it is like an explosion. So many different emotions are brought to the surface. Faith, trust, desire, friendship and confusion. As the story progresses we experience them all. We feel the hurt, the desire, the wanting, the denial and intense physical connection.

As with her first two books in this series the author not only lets us explore the characters minds through dialogue, she lets us inside their thought process as she devotes each chapter to a specific character. So as we read the story as it is happening, the next chapter resolves all of the questions we have as to who, what and why of the characters thoughts and actions. In doing this the reader can’t help but be swept up into the story having each and every emotion transferred into their hearts and minds.

Rome is a story of hope. A story of love in its many forms. A story of setting the past free and grasping on to the future. It shares with us the breakdown of a family and the slow rebuild of that unit. It is a story of truths and sharing them. A story of finding out who you really are and what it is you really want. It is a story of perfection and the realization of just what that word means. Trust, love, hope and burning desire explode on the pages of Rome.

Once again as she has done in the past in this series the author teases and tempts us with hopes of what and who we will read about in her next book. Her brilliance with words leaves us wanting to immerse ourselves into the next characters heart, mind and soul.





About Jay Crownover

Jay Crownover is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men and The Point series. Like her characters, she is a big fan of tattoos. She loves music and wishes she could be a rock star, but since she has no aptitude for singing or instrument playing, she’ll settle for writing stories with interesting characters that make the reader feel something. She lives in Colorado with her three dogs.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.