Tragic (Book 1) The Rook & Ronin Series & Rook & Ronin Spin Off Series by JA Huss

Posted May 19, 2015 by Debbie in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Tragic (Book 1) The Rook & Ronin Series & Rook & Ronin Spin Off Series by JA HussROOK and RONIN OMNIBUS EDITION by J.A. Huss
Also by this author: Three, Two, One (321): (A Dark Suspense)
Series: ,
Published by Science Future Press on March 4th 2014
Genres: BDSM, Dark Romance, Erotica, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 878
Format: eBook
ISBN: 13: 9781936413218

Rook Walsh is homeless, jobless, and down to her last ten dollars when she stumbles into a once in a lifetime opportunity. A chance to model for the internationally famous Antoine Chaput Studios in a campaign called TRAGIC. After years of struggling, Rook is wary of making new friends and she keeps her secrets close. But supermodel Ronin latches onto her heart and never lets go. Soon she's got a team of friends, including custom motorcycle creator, Spencer Shrike, and reality show producer, Ford Aston. She's on a wild ride-life is exciting and the money is flowing. But there might be more to her new friends than she ever imagined. Maybe Rook isn't the only one holding her secrets close? Her new friends and chance of a lifetime opportunity won't just change her future... it will bring her horrifying past back to haunt her.

Buy on Amazon

Get ready for the ride of your life because this series has it all. Romance, mystery, intrigue and erotica that will bring you to your knees and have you begging for more.

I fell in love with this series. I fell in love with four amazing, unique and interesting characters and a story that was so brilliantly intertwined.

With an extremely unique storyline, characters that are so emotionally driven and twists and turns that will have adrenaline pumping through your body you will have a hard time putting this series down.

~ Meet The Characters ~

~ Rook ~

She is lost, broken, strong, defiant, willing, unwilling, determined and harbors secrets so deep her soul weeps. Rook is a survivor … unwilling to let anything get in her way of escaping the past that haunts her.

~ Ronin ~

He is sexy, self-assured, determined, a dreamer, a realist, he is hard, soft, and a protector. Ronin has a dream and nothing is going to get in his way of achieving it.

~ Ford ~

He is a puzzle, a contradiction, he is dominate, intelligent, fiercely protective and the man who you love to love and love to hate. He is a mastermind of deceit and the teller of truths.

~ Spencer ~

He is strong, artistic, loving, fiercely loyal, a friend, a lover and humble. He is tattoos, bikes and so damn sexy you will drop to your knees on his command.


Though there are other characters who stay with us throughout the series, for me at least the four I mentioned are the stars.

The author starts this series with the story of Ronin and Rook but brings in the other key character, Ford and Spencer quickly. The story is heavy on emotion and it is a wonderful blend of words that heighten our senses, touches our hearts and yes makes us slowly relish the seduction of both the author’s words and the beautiful pictures they paint.

Rook is running. Running from her former self and life. She is determined to make a life for herself away from the torturous evil she has left behind. Without a penny to her name she takes a leap of faith or some may call it a big risk and walks into a world that not only mystifies but intrigues and excites.

Ronin he can feel the pain, can feel the shattered pieces of Rook from the moment they meet. A warning flag to stay away, maybe. Unsure and wagering a battle of wills in his mind, Ronin goes with his gut instinct and our story begins.

From the get go this story intrigues. It is unique in its presentation and leads us on a journey unlike any I have ever read before. The slow, sweet and incomparable seduction of the characters is written unlike anything I have ever read. The non sex in this series will steam up the screen on your Kindle and the actual sex will wreck you. The underlying tones of secrets, mysteries and twists will just blow you away. They not only add a dynamic element to the story, they also heighten your awareness of the many layers each character in this series holds. While most authors wrap things up nice and tidy by the end of the series, this author well she lands a bombshell at the end of the book that had me reeling.

The writing is brilliant, skilled and precise. The flow of the story is consistent throughout and not only does the author hold your interest she makes you crave for the next book.

Each character is so incredibly unique. I am in awe of the stark difference in not only their physical attributes but their personalities as well.  Each character holds a story within themselves and thankfully the author continues to delight and amaze with the Rock and Ronin spinoff series.

I felt like I was taken on a ride by this author. A slow and steady uphill climb laced with such heartfelt emotion and then the fast and furious decent that had my blood pulsing through my body at such a fast rate I honestly felt my heart beating faster.

Expect the unexpected, lose yourself in the seduction and hold on to your hats kids because this series is one wild and crazy ride.

~ Purchase Link for the  complete Rook and Ronin Series ~

~ Purchase Links for the Rook & Ronin Spinoff Series ~

~ Slack: A Day In The Life of Ford Aston ~

~ Bomb: A Day In The Life of Spencer Shrike ~

~ Taut: The Ford Book ~

~ Guns: The Spencer Book ~


About J.A. Huss

JA Huss is the author of the Amazon bestselling Rook and Ronin series, the epic science fiction I Am Just Junco series, and hundreds of kid-friendly science books in subjects such as biology, physics, anatomy and physiology, astronomy, and forensics.

She has an undergraduate degree in equine science and a master’s degree in forensic toxicology. She has never taken a creative writing class and she hopes she never will.

One response to “Tragic (Book 1) The Rook & Ronin Series & Rook & Ronin Spin Off Series by JA Huss

  1. Kristy Petree

    Great review – I like how you described each character. I loved this trilogy (I haven’t read the Ford or Spencer spin-offs yet). This is J.A. Huss’ best work, in my opinion. And Spencer is my favorite!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.