*5 Star Review * The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz*

Posted March 16, 2017 by RobbieLea in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

*5 Star Review * The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz*The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz
Also by this author: The King, The Virgin, The Queen, The Queen (The Original Sinners: White Years, #4), The Confessions, The Bourbon Thief, The Bourbon Thief, The Red, Michael's Wings: An Original Sinners Collection
Published by Mira Books on March 28th 2017
Genres: Women's Fiction
Pages: 432
Format: eARC
ISBN: 0778328554
ASIN: B01HB9Q6C8
Goodreads
five-stars

FTC disclaimer applies, please visit 'About' page

She has nothing to live for in the present, but finds there's something worth dying for in the past.
From Tiffany Reisz, the international bestselling storyteller behind The Bourbon Thief and The Original Sinners series, comes an enthralling new novel about a woman swept away by the tides who awakens to find herself in 1921, reunited with the husband she's been mourning for four years. Fans of Kate Morton and Diana Gabaldon will fall in love with the mystery, romance, and beauty of an isolated South Carolina lighthouse where a power greater than love works its magic.

Buy on Amazon

Buy on Barnes and Noble

Buy on iTunes

Buy on Kobo

Available on Google Play


#SouthCarolinaLowcountry #Lighthouses #TimeTravel #MiraBooks @tiffanyreisz @SaraMegibow @harlequinsue @MIRAEditors

Robbie’s Review

“To think I spent my whole life believing time only went in one direction,” he said. “Thought it was a river. Turns out it’s an ocean. Waves come in. Waves go out. Sometimes those waves take us with them.”

When a man makes a vow to love and care for you as long as you live, what does that mean? Does it mean he got his wedding vows wrong or does it mean he feels a connection and a commitment to you that won’t be bound by the limits of time and space? Faye Barlow, “a hostage taken by time”, is the heroine of Tiffany Reisz’s newest novel, The Night Mark. Faye has been blessed or cursed to know a love like that: a love so perfect she finds it impossible to move forward with her life in any meaningful way when that love is taken from her. But the question the author raises is whether or not that love has truly been taken from her. Is it still within her grasp if she has the courage to make Time a friend rather than an enemy and what will be the cost of this friendship with the enemy? I warn you to fasten your seat belts and be prepared for a spellbinding ride.  Ladies and Gentlemen! Your Time Machine is about to depart!

There are so many things I love about this book. I love the feel of the story – that despair can turn into hope and reality can turn into something mystical. I love the setting because I am from the South Carolina Lowcountry and as the book affirms “Lowcountry is God’s Country”. I love that the setting is familiar from The Bourbon Thief. The same fictional Bride Island that will be home to Tamara and Levi Shelby is home to the lighthouse where Chief Carrick Morgan is the keeper. I love the character development. I just want to hug Miss Lizzie and Dolly and Father Pat. Even the nasty characters are delightfully smarmy and vile. Most of all, I love that the author has taken this leap to do something other authors have done before her and has done it successfully, adding her unique touch.

There may be readers who will be reluctant to leave the edgy kingdom of The Original Sinners or the lighthearted and sexy world of Men at Work. The characters in The Night Mark still convey the author’s gift for dialogue. There is still the same witty banter and the sex is sexy, but when the author describes this novel as her most romantic book yet, she is exactly right. The pervasive feeling one gets as the waves of the storyline move inexorably closer to the shore is the transforming power of love. I recommend you suspend all your preset notions about what constitutes time and history before entering this enchanted world created by a master storyteller. Dear Ms. Reisz . . . you just continue to amaze me!

five-stars

About Tiffany Reisz

Tiffany Reisz is the author of the internationally bestselling and award-winning Original Sinners series for Mira Books (Harlequin/Mills & Boon). Tiffany’s books inhabit a sexy shadowy world where romance, erotica and literature meet and do immoral and possibly illegal things to each other. She describes her genre as “literary friction,” a term she stole from her main character, who gets in trouble almost as often as the author herself. She lives in Lexington, Kentucky with her husband, author Andrew Shaffer, and two cats. If she couldn’t write, she would die.

One response to “*5 Star Review * The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz*

Leave a Reply